Sublette sends 6 to Cowboy Hall

WYOMING – The Wyoming Cowboy Hall of Fame announced its 36 new inductees for the Class of 2021, which includes six inductees from Sublette County.

Charles Leonard Priebe of Pinedale, Milford Byron “Mike” Steele of Boulder/Pinedale, Ivan Samuel “Pete” Hoagland of Big Piney, Carl Philip “Red” Mathisen of Daniel/Cora, Thomas Daniel O’Neil Sr. of Big Piney and Kent Snedicor of Daniel will all be inducted during the awards ceremony at the Little America in Cheyenne on Sept. 23-24. Bob Lucas and Jim Maher of Jackson will also be inducted from the region.

The event is open to the public and part of the annual Wyoming Cowboy & Cowgirl Legacy Week, which was established by the Wyoming State Legislature in 2019. Tickets for the ceremony can be purchased at

Regional committees in 10 different areas of Wyoming researched and scored over 70 different nominations before sending top selections to the WCHF State Board of Directors.

The WCHF State Board of Directors, which is comprised of one representative each of the 10 districts, voted on the nominees during its annual meeting earlier this month. Formed for historical, cultural, literary and educational purposes, the WCHF’s main goal is “to preserve, promote, publish and document Wyoming’s working cowboy and ranching history through researching, profiling and honoring individuals who broke the first trails and introduced that culture to this state. WCHF plans to collect, display and preserve stories, photos and artifacts of such individuals and anything else that will honor and highlight their contributions to our history.”

More information about the WCHF can be found at


Video News