Recent drought qualifies Sublette County

SUBLETTE COUNTY – Agriculture Secretary Sonny Purdue designated three Wyoming counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers in Sublette, Lincoln and Crook counties who suffered losses caused by recent drought may be eligible for USDA Farm Service Agency emergency loans.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Producers in contiguous counties including Sweetwater, Fremont, Teton, Uinta and Rich County, Utah, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply is Aug. 17.

FSA will review the loans based on extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has additional programs to help producers recover from the impacts of this disaster and some that do not require a disaster declaration.

Producers can contact their local USDA service center for more about eligibility and applications. More information is at