Big Piney celebrates students' awards

BIG PINEY – Big Piney High School administration and staff honored outstanding student achievements at the 2022 Academic Awards Assembly in the Puncher Gym on Thursday, May 12.

Principal Jeff Makelky, math teacher Jenna Banks and guidance counselor Norma Clements announced the Honor Court. Brayden Hymas was named valedictorian and Autumn Wright salutatorian for the Class of 2022.

To earn status as a member of the Honor Court, students must maintain a minimum GPA of 3.7 all four years of high school and score a 25 or above on the ACT test. Hymas and Wright both knocked the minimum requirements out of the park, Makelky said.

Roman Sambrano of Hilcorp presented senior Jocie Banks with the company’s Future Leader of America Scholarship. Hilcorp endows the award to an “outstanding student” and provides the recipient with $2,500 per academic year for a total of $10,000.

Hymas and senior Anton Vickrey both achieved the University of Wyoming Trustees’ Scholar Award, the university’s top academic scholarship.

Hymas also received the senior class’s Most Improved ACT Award.

Senior Britney Jones took first place in the BPHS Trig-Star Scholarship contest for a second year in a row, earning nearly $1,000 that can be applied to any college, said Jenna Banks. The Trig-Star Scholarship is a nationwide program developed by the National Society of Professional Surveyors and is sponsored locally by Surveyor Scherbel.

Jocie Banks came in second place in the Trig-Star contest with Autumn Wright in third place.

Makelky and Clements presented 10 seniors with accolades for making the BPHS Honor Roll seven semesters in a row. The group included Banks, Brayden Bennett, Esther Garcia, Hanna Hansen, Lena Hatch, Hymas, Britney Jones, Sierra Keiter, Vickrey and Wright.

BPHS seniors challenged themselves by enrolling in college credit courses through Western Wyoming Community College. Angie Clifford, director of Western Sublette 9 BOCES, recognized Bennett, Jade Espenscheid, Esther Garcia, Hatch, Hymas, Ceci Sambrano and Wright for earning more than 15 credits.

Hymas achieved BPHS’s College Student of the Year Award for completing 27 credit hours through WWCC.

The BPHS Contributor of the Year Award went to Steve Nelson and Beth Nelson for their continued service to the district and support of its students.

Student of the Year Awards

Teachers nominated a Student of the Year for each class.

  • Math: Brandon Jones for pre-calculus, Clayton Mullikan for geometry, Hymas for calculus, Wright for college algebra, Danielle Silvas for algebra, Chelsea Wright for advanced algebra and Britney Jones for real-world math.
  • Science: Maerin Fazendin for biology, Banks for anatomy and physics, Britney Jones for advanced chemistry, Colby Jenks for chemistry, Jolynn Jones for physical science and Thomas Howard for physics.
  • Social studies: Hannah Runyan for U.S. history, Fazendin for world studies and Trystin Fugle for American government.
  • English: Emma York for English I, Jennifer Montes for English II, Rayne Wheeler for English III, Flavie Clusman for English IV and Wright for college English.
  • Physical education: Howard for strength and conditioning, Seth Stoutenburg for outdoor recreation, Jaspur Brower for general P.E. and Caden Clifford for freshman P.E. and health.
  • Career and vocational studies: Logan Tinoco for computer science, Bill Hibbert for machine tech, Tryzmen Green for welding, Espenscheid for advanced welding, York for woods, Stoutenburg for advanced woods, Keiter for child development, Keena Glenn for foods, Brynne Hoffman for foreign foods and Lena Hatch for culinary arts. Brower earned the Industrial Arts Student of the Year.
  • Fine arts: Clusman for art, Elijah McKinney for pottery, Jenks for graphic design, Fazendin for yearbook and Fugle for digital photography.
  • Music: Brandon Jones for choir, Bradley Rodda for music production and Vickrey for band.
  • Foreign language: Monica Serna for Spanish I and Clusman for Spanish II.
  • Life skills Student of the Year awarded to Ian Jones.
© 2022-Sublette Examiner


Video News