219 E. Pine St., PO Box 1539, Pinedale, WY 82941 • Ph: 307-367-3203 • Fax: 307-367-3209
Current E-Edition

Top Stories Obituaries Sports Community Classifieds Public Notices Photos Home 

Preliminary primary election results show few upsets

Modified: Tuesday, Aug 19th, 2014

PINEDALE – The preliminary tally of primary votes shows at least one potential new elected county official. Stephen Haskell was nominated to be the Republican candidate for sheriff. With no Democrat running, it’s likely he takes the seat in the General Election in November. The other new face will be Curt Covill, who won the Republican nomination for coroner.

Mary Lankford, Andy Nelson, Joel Bousman and Roxanna Jensen were nominated to keep their seats, as were the candidates who ran unopposed. Most races don't have a Democrat candidate, so barring a write-in campaign like the one that got Dave Lankford elected four years, ago, the nominees are likely to retain their positions.

Mead took the county in the Republican race for governor, and Sheryl Lain had most of the county’s votes for superintendent of public instruction. Pete Illoway, Mark Gordon, Cynthia Lummis and Mike Enzi all carried Sublette County in their races, as well.

As of 9:45 p.m. Tuesday, according to the secretary of state’s website, Enzi was leading the race for Republican nomination to the U.S. Senate seat, and Charlie Hardy was leading for the Democrat nomination. Lummis was also leading statewide and will face Richard Grayson in November.

With only eight counties reporting, Mead was leading against Taylor Haynes by nearly 10,000 votes. Pete Gosar will be the Democrat candidate. Ed Buchanan led the race for secretary of state, but Ed Murray was less than 800 votes behind him with 15 counties left to report. Mark Gordon had a 22,000- vote lead over Ron Redo.

The race for superintendent of public instruction was much closer, with Balow leading and Lain and Winney close behind. The winner will face Mike Ceballos in the General Election.

Full county results

Republican primary:

HD 20 representative

Albert Sommers – 1,900

HD 22 representative

Marty Halverson – 180

County commissioner

Andy Nelson – 1,316

Joel Bousman – 1,122

Doug Vickrey – 979

John LaBuda – 884

County coroner

Curt Covill – 1,350

Eric Marincic – 1,018

County attorney

Clayton Kainer – 1,932

County sheriff

Stephen Haskell – 1,196

Dave Lankford – 990

Andrew Mackenzie – 221

County clerk

Mary Lankford – 868

Michelle Hosler – 713

EJ Koppenhafer – 429

Holly Roberts – 409

County treasurer

Roxanna Jensen – 1,271

Delta McCormick – 1,106

County assessor

Jeness Saxton – 2,158

Clerk of district court

Janet Montgomery – 2,098

Democrat primary:

HD 22 representative

Natalia Macker – 8

County commissioner

Courtney Skinner – 93

Share on Facebook

Select Page:



Shoppe Hide


Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal